Conservation Almanac

Conservation Almanac: Federal, State, Local & Private Lands

The Conservation Almanac contains data from the following federal agencies and programs:

Bonneville Power Administration
Bureau of Land Management
The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) was established in 1946 and is responsible for carrying out a variety of programs for the management and conservation of resources on 258 million surface acres, as well as 700 million acres of subsurface mineral estate. The Conservation Almanac includes the following types of BLM land as permanently conserved: national conservation areas, national monuments, cooperative management, protection areas, national recreation areas, outstanding natural areas, forest reserves, wilderness areas, wilderness study areas, and areas of critical environmental concern. Data are collected from BLM's National Landscape Conservation System.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
U.S. Department of Defense (DOD)
Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF)
Created in 1965, the Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF) is the largest source of federal money for park, wildlife, and open space land acquisition. Specifically, the LWCF provides funding to assist in the acquiring, preserving, developing and assuring accessibility to outdoor recreation resources, including but not limited to open space, parks, trails, wildlife habitat and other lands and facilities desirable for individual active participation. The program's funding comes primarily from offshore oil and gas drilling receipts, with an authorized expenditure of $900 million each year, while federal recreation fees, sales of federal surplus real property, and federal motorboat fuel taxes fund also contribute to the LWCF. Under this program, a portion of the money is intended to go to federal land purchases and a portion to the states as matching grants for land protection projects.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
National Park Service

The National Park Service was created in 1916 and comprises over 400 areas covering more than 84 million acres in every state, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. These areas include national parks, monuments, battlefields, military parks, historical parks, historic sites, lakeshores, seashores, recreation areas, scenic rivers and trails, and the White House.

U.S. Department of Agriculture
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
The National Wildlife Refuge System of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) began over 100 years ago in 1903 when President Roosevelt designated the first wildlife refuge (Pelican Island in Florida). The National Wildlife Refuge System now includes more than 560 refuges, 38 wetland management districts, and other protected areas encompassing 150 million acres of land and water from the Caribbean to the remote Pacific. There is at least one national wildlife refuge in every state and territory.